Letter to Vivian

Write a letter that Grant writes to Vivian in which he lays open his deepest thoughts and feelings about the development / effect of his visits at Jefferson’s.

Oh Vivian, my love,

do you remember the first time when my aunt told me to teach Jefferson?
I did not want to visit him. I thought that it did not make sense!  Why should I make Jefferson into a man before he dies? But you, dear Vivian, you have changed my decision with your charming kind.

The first visits with Jefferson were strange.  I did not know what I should say. Jefferson was quiet, while I tried to talk with him.  But after the first meetings, I recognized a change.  He began to trust me, he even told me of one of his wishes: He wanted some ice-cream! Ice-cream, my dear!  I was so relieved that the ice between us was broken – and then I saw him smiling. I wished you would have been there at this wonderful moment. Finally, Jefferson’s positive development motivated me to teach him.

We became real friends. I think, he needed me.  However, at each visit I thought of the day on which he would die. And this day came too fast, Vivian. I know that Jefferson was innocent.  But I also know that he died as a man – not as a hog, as the lawyer said it once. But now, that chapter of my life is over. Sweetheart, you were always by my side, thank you. I am sorry if you felt neglected by me…

You are the love of my life,
Grant

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Eingeordnet unter Uncategorized

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar