„I’d start again. A new man.“ (337, 12)

In the first chapter, the protagonist hasn’t any self-esteem. He falls into a deep hole (ll. 3-4), he says that he feels lost and hopeless (l. 5), he states that it wasn’t his fault (l. 6).  In the second chapter his self-esteem grows a bit. He just pretend that he doesn’t see the hole (l. 11), he cannot believe that he does it again (l. 12), he justifies his situation one more time. In Chapter Three he feels very emotionless, he sees the hole but nevertheless he falls in, but he declares that it is his fault (l.22). He goes out immediately (l. 23), at the first and second chapter he couldn’t find a way out. In the fourth chapter he has a big self-esteem, he sees the hole and walks around it (l. 27). In Chapter Five he walks down another street (l. 29). He has learned that the street is broken. So his self-esteem grows during every chapter.

The speaker of the poem has learned about himself that he can beat every barrier, he has just to believe in his experiences.

Henry in Five Chapters

Chapter One

I live in Dublin. There is a hard fight.
I fall in.
I am the hero… I am their hope.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes forever to find my luck.

Chapter Two

I still live in Dublin.
There is a hard fight.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I can’t believe, the people forget me.
But it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to find my luck.

Chapter Three

I still live in Dublin.
There is a hard fight.
I see it is there.
I don’t want to fight… it is a habit.
My eyes are open.
I know where I am.
It is my fault, Victor.
I takes forever to find my luck.

Chapter Four

I still live in Dublin.
There is a hard fight.
I’m fighting.

Chapter Five

I’m fighting my own war.

2 Kommentare

Eingeordnet unter Uncategorized

2 Antworten zu “„I’d start again. A new man.“ (337, 12)

  1. Melanie Janssen

    Hello Franziska =)

    I like your poem because it shows the stations of Henry’s life. Furthermore it shows how his attitude towards the Easter Rising had changed.
    I really think that you can call this a autobiography in five chapters.
    Very good !

  2. Hai

    Hey Franziska,

    I think your poem is presenting Henry’s development towards the fighting very well.
    The fighting represents an improtant part of his life as one is also capable to see in your autobiographie.

    Greetings,
    Hai

Schreibe einen Kommentar

